Behind the scenes: On surviving four days of viral hate.

My friend on her recent dealings with Cyber Bullies.

wishcrys

12797_586405311495263_6528977911167286736_n

On 23 March 2015, I published this post cataloging very early social media reactions to the passing of a prominent political figure in Singapore. In my usual fashion, I posted the link to the post on my personal and work Facebook accounts (both private but with the post marked visible to all), and my public Twitter account, where hashtags were omitted.

Then the post went viral in Singapore.

And viral hate started streaming in.

Less than twelve hours later, I decided to get up in the middle of the night to add a lengthy preamble to signpost some things to readers.

In my thesis, I study a group of actors on social media known as ‘commercial bloggers’ in the vernacular, ‘influencer markerters’ in the industry, or ‘social media microcelebrities’ in academia. For this reason, I am no stranger to viral hate, having observed, catalogued, and analyzed developments in real time whenever a spat/controversy/saga/war breaks out…

View original post 1,102 more words

Leave a Reply

