Noses

I was scanning some books for my supervisor the other day and as doing so, I spotted this picture of Juliana von Nassau-Siegen, a sixteenth-century Dutch noble lady.

In the genetic lottery this poor woman copped the huge schnoz of her male ancestors, all of whom, from what I can gather, had equally prominent snouts. I suddenly felt a lot better about my own face which is adorned by a rather lovely freckly button nose. I don’t think I will be as reticent to view my own visage in the mirror now. Although it does look a little broad in this photo. Hmm?

Button nose or suspiciously Almost-Roman?

Leave a Reply

