Meet my iPad 2

This is my new iPad 2 frivolously purchased (online from the Apple Store) on 25 March 2011 with the familial donations made to the cause on my birthday and the meagre contents of my so-called savings account.

My lovely new Apple iPad 2 with pretty blue iPad 2 Smart Cover

It arrived via courier on the morning of 18 April 2011 and as I was in yet another Melancholic Slump, I was on-hand to receive it in person. (And to the amusement of the courier, I was still donned in my Sussan’s dressing gown and Peter Alexander owl PJs at 11:36am, but what else would someone suffering a Melancholic Slump be wearing, I ask you?)

I excitedly removed my iPad 2 from its box, put all the pieces together, gloried at the shininess of it, how pretty my blue iPad 2 Smart Cover looked and the craftiness of its functions as smart cover and iPad 2 stand.

The Ingenious iPad 2 Smart Cover at Work!

I contemplated where I could adhere my bonus gift-with-purchase Apple sticker. Not wanting to ruin the sleekness of my iPad, I decided to place my bonus gift-with-purchase Apple sticker next to my ‘I [heart] STEPHEN FRY’ sticker on the back windscreen of my Little White Holden Nova. I kept turning over my iPad 2 to giggle at my practical, yet amusing, engraving on the back.

My iPad 2: Amusingly engraved

A little aside on the subject of Apple packaging: I love how sturdy the boxes are. Not only are you assured of your Apple product arriving undamaged, but for those of you who, like me, wish to keep your Apple product in tip top condition until the day it dies, (I am not one for upgrading technology for the sake of having the latest), your Apple product can be safely stored away in its sturdy box when not in use.

Apple's Sturdily Packaged iPad 2

Anyway… On with my little tale.

I prepared my iBook in readiness for synching my new toy and loading it up with goodies from my iTunes ‘Amusements Collection’. Oh, and important thesis-related documents for chapter composition purposes, of course!  

Nothing happened.

I found my Aged Aunt’s MacBook Pro and tried to synch it to that.

Nothing happened.

My excitement turned quickly to disappointment.

I realised that I needed the Internet connected in order to get my iPad 2 synched. (I am sure I read the set up instructions properly, but it appeared not.) Unfortunately, my Aged Aunt’s Internet dongle is so enormous, it blocks the second dongle hole on her MacBook Pro rendering it unusable when said Internet dongle is in place, so I abandoned my efforts to synch my iPad 2 and retreated to the couch to watch QI.

A couple of weeks later, I was forced into visiting the friendly chaps at Next Byte in Nedlands to purchase a new cord for my iBook as the original one died after a two-day The IT Crowd and Jane Austen Films Marathon that took place from the comfort of my bed. (Yes, I was in throes of yet another Melancholic Slump.) While processing my payment, I mentioned the troubles I had with synching my iPad 2 to the Apple laptops I had access to. I found myself on the receiving end of a pity-filled ‘You Are A Moron’ stare.

“First of all”, he said, “you are correct in assuming that you iBook is too old and will not be compatible with your iPad 2.”

(So am not that much of a moron because I actually figured that out for myself!)

“Second of all, were you not aware that once your iPad has been synched to a computer that is the only computer to which it can by synched? You should have been made aware of this fact when you purchased your iPad.”

No, I did not know about this little quirk of the iPads and as I had purchased my iPad 2 online through the Apple Store because I did not fancy standing in line for ages with the computer geeks at the various Apple Stores and stockists around Perth, there was no person to explain this little “quirk” of the iPads to me.

So now I have an iPad 2 that was returned unused to the safety of its sturdy Apple packaging to await the day its owner has saved the $2,140 AUS necessary to upgrade her laptop technology from an iBook to a 13-inch MacBook Pro with extra RAM and 500GB hard drive.

What can one learn from this tale? Do not frivolously spend money that one can ill afford on toys that one does not really need of or have the technical know-how to understand.

 

NB: The blogger has categorised this post under ‘Joy Bringer’, although the subject of the post, namely the blogger’s new iPad 2, has yet to bring her joy. It has been so categorised with the hope that the blogger’s new iPad 2 will some day soon bring her lots of joy, in addition to serving as a pleasant means of procrastinating in place of working on her thesis.

Leave a Reply

