Issue 4 – Couch Potato to Gym Junkie: A Physical Journey

I have to say that I am finding it very difficult to conquer the slothful part of my nature. I have made it to the gym once a week since my last report and this week, not once, although my hours at the physio this week belie my so-called part-time casual status and have made gym attendance impossible. Well, I could arise at 5am to make it for the 6am opening time, however, I think such actions have injurious potential given the uncoordinatedness of my person until at least 10am.

However, the reason for my report this week is that my gym has decided I am lacking a philanthropic side to my nature – the state of my bank balance belies this! – and have decided that I should also pay the gym membership of one of my fellow gymites, hereby known as A.N.

I have been online shopping with an alarming frequency lately, although this does mean that my Christmas shopping is almost complete. Given my online shopping madness, I have been checking my accounts frequently to ensure monies are flowing swiftly and correctly. It was during one of these checks that I spotted an amount of $59.00 that rang no bells, except for alarm bells.

I did a quick online search to discover who these Ezypay people were and why they were taking monies from my account. My thinking was, “what had I purchased and did not remember?”

I was informed by the nice young man on the other end of the telephone line that the payment was for Contours and was under the name A.N.

What?

It has been three weeks since this alarming discovery and I am still awaiting the return of my $59.00!

So not only am I paying for myself not to attend the gym, I have been unwittingly cast in the role of philanthropist to A.N., aiding her get fit mission in addition to my own!

This is exactly the look on my face when I discovered I had been cast in the role of philanthropist by my gym!

Leave a Reply

