Joy Bringer: Stephen Fry in the Radio Times

I was feeling a little gloomy on Monday morning. After the high of a weekend of concerting around Perth – Kate Ceberano and James Morrison at the Perth Zoo on Saturday and Crowded House at Sandalford Winery on Sunday – I was feeling a little glum for the week ahead was all work work work, and not thesis-related work either. Gloomy and stressed I was.

I was sitting in front of the telly munching on my breakfast of vegemite on toast when I heard the tell-tale drone of the postman’s bike and a thud as a parcel landed, literally, on the doorstep!

Breakfast doesn't get any better than this!

 

From the handwriting on the box I knew the Ponds moisturiser that my skin LOVES had arrived from my friend Mary. And perfectly timed as I am on the verge of finishing the last jar in my stash!

The Best Moisturiser in the Universe

But these jars were not the only joy bringers lurking within that box that also contained bubble-wrap, (which was stomped on and popped much to the horror of the two Hounds from Hell I am forced to share a house with). Atop the Boots bag filled with Ponds jars were cut-outs from a September issue of the Radio Times featuring my favourite person in the entire world, aside from my niece and nephews, and illustrated with photos that delighted my gloomy and stressed soul.

A Tweedy Hell's Angel

 

And…

Stephen Fry and the Hamster

 

And…

Stephen Fry and the Herring

 

And most fabulously, proof that QI continues…

YEAH!!

Now I just need something to help me get through yet another long day at work today. Maybe the fact that at 8pm tonight I shall be sitting in seat V-22 at the Regal Theatre, Subiaco awaiting the arrival on stage of the one, the only, the most fabulous, Carrie Fisher?

Carrie Fisher, 'Wishful Drinking

2 thoughts on “Joy Bringer: Stephen Fry in the Radio Times

  1. Isabella Lazar says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Kudos!Pinellas Park Roofing, 9753 66th St., #206, Pinellas Park, FL 33782 – (727) 755-0026

    Like

    • Hi Isabella. I am the worst person to ask. I have been procrastinating over my thesis for nearly 8 years now and it’s still not done. I only started this… Well, I don’t know why I did. WordPress is really good, I think, but I’m not particularly techno-savvy, despite the tech tools I have equipped myself with. Certainly try out the free version of WordPress. I find it really easy to use. I haven’t gone for the paid option yet because, as you can probably tell, my blogging happens in fits and starts, a bit like the thesis too. But I find it easy to use and a lot of the great people I follow on Twitter are here too. I like the look of WordPress too. I have tried a few different looks and am currently rather fond of the Art Deco-y one my ‘News and Random Ponderings’ is sporting. I used it for my Jane Austen group too. As someone said to me, just get blogging, get into the swing of it and as you progress, you might feel like expanding to develop your own site or just start paying for the extra services. There are lots of friendly people on the WordPress and I, touch wood, have never had a problem I couldn’t figure out or was that important I couldn’t just ignore. 😉

      Do let me know when you start blogging so I can follow you!

      And thank you for your lovely compliment and for popping in to see me!

      Happy writing!

      Lisa

      P.S. Oh, and take it from me, when it comes to writing, do some EVERY day if you want to do it seriously otherwise you turn it into a phobia/chore/fear thing and suddenly it’s been almost 8 years and your thesis still isn’t finished. Keep an eye on my academic blog for hints on how NOT to be a writer/student/historian. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

